The inaugural Australian Road Safety Awards, to be staged in November 2011, will recognise achievements and innovations which will improve road safety across the nation.

A registered supporter of the Decade of Action, the FFFRSF has designed the Awards programme to help to raise general awareness about road and driver safety and promote strategies and initiatives that address road safety issues across all sectors.
FFFRSF Chairman Russell White said the Foundation was proud to announce the Awards on the day the Decade of Action was launched.

“The Foundation is proud to support the Decade for Action for Road Safety. We believe road fatalities and injuries are preventable and that all road users play a role in helping to improve safety in our communities and on our streets,” said Mr White.

“We hope the Awards as well as the Foundation’s other activities including the World’s Largest Driving Lesson (4 May 2011) and Fatality Free Friday (27 May 2011), will help to focus attention on the importance of road safety and encourage Australian drivers to think consciously about driving safely every time they are behind the wheel.

“As well as formally recognising stakeholders’ commitment to improving road safety outcomes, the Road Safety Awards will encourage further community engagement, professional development for corporate organisations and most importantly, individual action on reducing road trauma.

“The Awards will encourage new standards of excellence in the road safety industry and in turn, will act as a catalyst to increase road safety activities across the nation,” he said.

Categories for the national Awards programme include Community Programs; School Programs; Small Business Fleets; Automotive Industry Safety; Transport Industry Award; Corporate Fleet Safety; Indigenous Road Safety; Local Government Initiatives; State Government Initiatives; Innovation; Media; and the Founder’s Award for Outstanding Achievement.

The Awards are sponsored by Caltex, the largest refiner and marketer of petroleum products in Australia.

Award registrations open on 12 May 2011. To learn more about the Australian Road Safety Awards visit